Faculty News Fall 2014

Author: Rebecca Hicks



We extend a warm welcome to Jon Camden, the newest member of our faculty. Prof. Camden’s research focuses on investigating the optical properties of nanoparticles, developing ultrasensitive detection methods, and determining the fundamental dynamics of simple chemical reactions. Prof. Camden received his B.S. in chemistry and music from Notre Dame and his Ph.D. from Stanford University under the advisement of Prof. Richard Zare. He then completed his postdoctoral work at Northwestern University under Profs. George Schatz and Richard Van Duyne before joining the faculty at the University of Tennessee as an assistant professor in 2008.




We fondly remember Jeremiah Freeman, professor emeritus, who passed away in February. An ND alumnus, he was an accomplished researcher and educator who was a member of the organic chemistry faculty for 31 years. His contributions to the department maintain a lasting impact, and he will be sincerely missed.


Faculty Awards & Achievements


Prashant Kamat, Rev. John A. Zahm, C.S.C Professor of Science, has had quite a year! He achieved a Hersch-index (h-index) of over 100, a significant and elite achievement. The h-index is a measure of a scientist’s productivity and impact as related to published work. With over 400 peer-reviewed publications and 33,000 citations, Prof. Kamat is one of the most prolific researchers in physical chemistry. He also received the Notre Dame 2014 Research Achievement Award and was included on Thomson Reuters’ list of “The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds: 2014”.


Frank Castellino, Kleiderer-Pezold Professor of Biochemistry, received the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award for Achievement. Prof. Castellino’s research focuses on the structure, function, and activation of proteins that participate in blood coagulation, blood clot dissolution, inflammation, and infection.




Brad Smith, Emil T. Hofman Professor of Science, was appointed as associate editor of the American Chemical Society journal Bioconjugate Chemistry. The journal focuses on research related to all aspects of conjugation chemistry and biochemistry. Prof. Smith also serves as the director of the Notre Dame Integrated Imaging Facility.




Patricia Clark, Rev. John Cardinal O’Hara, C.S.C. Professor of Biochemistry, was named President-elect of the Gibbs Society of Biological Thermodynamics, which seeks to foster innovative applications in biological thermodynamics.




Associate professor Steve Corcelli has been invited to serve as Vice-Chair of the Graduate Education Advisory Board (GEAB) of the American Chemical Society. The GEAB develops recommendations related to education to consistently improve and enhance the learning experience for both graduate students and postdoctoral researchers.



Assistant professor Haifeng Gao was awarded a US Army Research Office Young Investigator Program Award for his work using confined environments to control the size and structure of hyperbranched polymers.




Assistant professor Amanda Hummon is the recipient of a 2014 National Science Foundation CAREER Award for her work on a novel approach to rapidly evaluate molecular penetration using three-region nLC-MS/MS analysis.




Rudy Navari, adjunct professor of chemistry and biochemistry at Notre Dame and associate dean and director of the Indiana University School of Medicine - South Bend accepted a position with the World Health Organization (WHO) as director of the Cancer Care Program in Eastern Europe.



Prof. Brian Baker and Kathy Peterson were recognized by the University with Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C. Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

We wish to congratulate Brandon Ashfeld on his promotion to associate professor and Holly Goodson on her promotion to professor.