Faculty News

Author: Rebecca Hicks

Beginnings and Endings

7We extend a warm welcome to John Parkhill, the newest member of our faculty, who joined us this summer.  As an assistant professor, John’s research will focus on quantum chemistry, working toward understanding the dynamics of electronically excited states and materials relevant to energy conversion. His work seeks to merge electronic structure theory with models for non-equilibrium dynamics which ensue following light absorption in, for example, photovoltaic materials. Prior to joining us, John was a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University in the Aspuru-Guzik group. He received his doctorate in Theoretical Chemistry from UC Berkeley and bachelor of science degree in Chemistry and Mathematics from the University of Chicago.

scheidtsquareBob Scheidt presented his last formal lecture in the spring. After 43 years, he will be moving to full-time research! Bob’s contributions to Notre Dame have been immense, including teaching thousands of students and publishing over 350 research papers. He sets a high standard for those that follow him.



Faculty Awards


We are pleased to share that Norm Dovichi, Grace-Rupley Professor of Chemistry, received the 2013 ANACHEM award. This prestigious award was established in 1953 and is given each year to an analytical chemist who has advanced the art and science of chemical analysis. Norm’s research currently focuses on the ability to measure protein content changes during embryo development. This work follows from his previous research developing a high-throughput DNA sequencer that is used in human genome mapping. The award will be presented at the National FACSS SciX conference in September.



Prashant Kamat, John A. Zahm Professor of Science, was named the 2013 Langmuir Lecturer, an award presented annually by the Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. He gave a keynote lecture entitled “Meeting the Clean Energy Challenge with Semiconductor Nanostructures” in a special session at the September 2013 national ACS meeting.



Zac Schultz was selected as a Cottrell Scholar for his research on developing a label free spectroscopic detector for flow analysis of microparticles in blood. Additionally, the award supports his efforts to expand and improve undergraduate students’ understanding of chemical instrumentation and its importance in solving scientific problems. These awards are given to early-career professors who have excellent research programs and demonstrate outstanding undergraduate teaching.


Marv Miller, George and Winifred Clark Professor, received a 2012 Outstanding Open Innovation Drug Discovery Collaborator award from Eli Lilly’s Open Innovation Drug Discovery Team. Marv and his collaborator Garrett Moraski were recipients of the first collaborative agreement under Lilly’s Phenotypic Drug Discovery Initiative in 2011, after competing with 30,000 compounds submitted by researchers from 26 countries.




A number of faculty members have received University awards. Patricia ClarkDan Gezelter, and Jim Johnson won Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C, Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and Sr. Kathleen Cannon won the Dockweiler Award for excellence in undergraduate advising.

Faculty Appointments

This year we have also had a number of faculty members take on additional responsibilities for the University. Rich Taylor was appointed Associate Vice President for Research. Patricia Clark was selected to act as a Provost Fellow for the 2013-2014 academic year to work on projects to improve research productivity at ND. Finally, Brian Baker has been appointed to the position of Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies in the College of Science.