Faculty Awards

Author: None

greg_lappin  brad_smith  marv_miller  tony_trozzolo

     Graham Lappin              Brad Smith                  Marv Miller                   Tony Trozzolo

paul_bohn  norm_dovichi  frankin_tao  ken_kuno

       Paul Bohn                   Norm Dovichi               Franklin Tao                   Ken Kuno          

steve_corcelli  holly_goodson  shahriar_mobashery  brian_baker

       Steve Corcelli             Holly Goodson         Shahriar Mobashery           Brian Baker


Brad, the Emil T. Hofman Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, is a recognized leader in the field of supramolecular chemistry applied to biological systems.  In particular, he designs molecular imaging probes for detecting cancer, cell death, and microbial infection in living organisms. He is founding Director of the Notre Dame Integrated Imaging Facility, a state-of-the-art research resource that provides an integrated suite of sophisticated microscopes and imaging stations for Notre Dame science and engineering researchers.Hearty congratulations to Graham Lappin and Brad Smith who were named Fellows of the Royal Society of Chemistry this past year.  Graham, who has been a faculty member since 1982, is a mechanistic inorganic chemist who specializes in electron-transfer and atom-transfer reactions. As Department Chair from 1993-2002 and again from 2005-2009, he oversaw the growth of many facets of the department.  Under his leadership we expanded the research enterprise, increased faculty numbers, grew the graduate program, and improved our facilities.  He is an enthusiastic and dedicated teacher.  Graham has also mined the pop culture vein, having long been mythologized as the inspiration for the voice of “Shrek”.

Congratulations are also in order for Marv Miller and Tony Trozzolo who received alumni awards their former institutions. Marv, who received a B.S. in chemistry from North Dakota State University, was selected as recipient of the 2012 Henry L. Bolley Academic Achievement Award by the North Dakota State University Alumni Association.  You can read more about Marv in “The Benchmark” section of this newsletter.  Tony, who is the Charles L. Huisking Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, was named the recipient of the 2012 University of Chicago Professional Achievement Award from the Alumni Board of Governors. Tony received a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Chicago prior to embarking on a long and distinguished career in industry and academia in the field of photochemistry.

Two of our analytical chemists have garnered prestigious plaudits.  First, Paul Bohn, Arthur J. Schmitt Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and joint Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, has been designated a Fellow of the Society by the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (SAS).  Paul is leading the charge in chemical measurement science, designing and building instruments with the requisite precision to control mass-limited samples in space and time on the nanometer length scale with the goal of applying these devices as sensors or in molecular separations.  Norm Dovichi, Grace-Rupley Professor of Chemistry, has been announced as the recipient of the 2012 Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science.  This biennial prize, given by the Royal Society of Chemistry, includes a £5,000 cash award, a medal, and a lecture tour of the UK. Norm’s research group was partially responsible for developing capillary array electrophoresis with laser-induced fluorescence detection in a sheath flow cuvette—the primary instrument used by the Human Genome Project in its successful effort to determine sequence the human genome. Norm and his group have now set their sites on studying protein expression in single cells in order to determine how, for instance, the proteome changes across a cellular population during cancer progression and during the development of an embryo.

One of our junior faculty, Franklin Tao, has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award by the American Vacuum Society (AVS), Thin Film Division.  Franklin will present an honorary lecture at the upcoming International Symposium of the AVS.  Franklin also authored a book with Steve Bernasek, Functionalization of Semiconductor Surfaces.  Published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., it’s available in both hardcopy and electronic copy

A textbook has also surfaced from our faculty ranks.  Authored by Ken Kuno and entitled Introductory Nanoscience Physical and Chemical Concepts, the book is aimed at upper-level undergraduate and graduate students and asks key questions about the quantitative concepts that underlie the fast-emerging nanoscience field. It’s published by Garland Science.

Teaching is a tremendous strength in our department and we were happy to see associate professors Steve Corcelli and Holly Goodson receive Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The awardees, 20 of which are recognized each year, are selected through a process that involves peer and student nominations.  Holly is also the recipient of the 2012 Thomas P. Madden Award, recognizing exceptional teaching of first-year students.  Beginning in 2005, Holly helped develop and refine a one-semester course for first-year engineering students.  Called General Chemistry: Fundamental Principals and Biological Processes, it provides our fledgling engineers with a firm foundation in the biological aspects of chemistry.

Other members of our faculty that were formally recognized with prestigious University awards include Shahriar Mobashery, Navari Family Professor of Life Sciences.  Shahriar was the recipient of the 2012 Research Achievement Award.  He is internationally known for his work on drug-resistant bacteria and diseases of the extracellular matrix.   Brian Baker was awarded the 2012 Director of Graduate Studies Award.  He has been instrumental in growing the graduate program and improving its  programmatic elements.